Churches in Film

I’ve been hardcore neglecting my blog for months now, but I have news to make up for it: I’ve been taking a black and white film class. So I dusted off my dad’s old Canon AE-1 and tried my hand at shooting, processing, and printing 35mm film. Dark room and all.

Shooting film is quite different from digital, as you can imagine. Shooting film forces you to truly understand metering and to take the time to frame your photo before you shoot – after all, you can’t just guess and check as you would with digital. Being in the darkroom is also kind of magical and a lot of fun. So, if you ever have the chance to try shooting film, do it! Most community colleges will offer an intro black and white film class so you can process and print in the darkroom too 🙂

The Church Series

Church in Pacific Beach, California35mmfilmchurchblackandwhitefilmmissionempty churchphotographychurchbellsblackandwhitefilmuniversityofsandiego

Leave a Reply

